Religious Hatred

I just don’t understand.  How can you hate another person, or a group of people just based on their faith alone?

Most organised religions have one thing in common; whether they be Christian, Parsi, Shinto, whatever; and that is the tennet of love/repect one another.

I know religious hatred happens all over the world, but it certainly prevelolent in American society. Sikh men in parks, get shot because of their turbans; muslim girls get shunned for wearing hijab to school, etc. Just today, I was waiting for the library to open, and a white man was pacing next to me, certainly getting on my nerves; then an older jewish gentleman (wearing a kipah) came into this guy’s view.  He was looking past me twards the older man, so I could see the whole change in his face as it went from blank to a sneer of disgust. Why? The older man didnt appear to do anything that would make someone snear in disgust.  He wasnt a smelly homeless person or anything, nor disturbing the peace at all.  Just waiting for the libary to open.  The white man, who I am assuming is Christian or nothing at all, followed this older man with his eyes, and I was starting to worry that there was going to be an incedent.  The younger man said something, but I could not hear him bc I was listening to Aal Eah by Maghribi singer Samira Saeid, but I can only assume it was a slur of sorts.

Christians (more then their current scapegoat, Muslims) have created more wars and violence in the name of their religon.  The crusades, the inquisition, N. Ireland, etc etc.  Not being a christian, I am no expert on their theology, but I do know their Jesus’ mantra was the same “love one another” as mentioned above.  Christians have justified slaves, the Shoah, apparteid, and many other acts of hatred, with their Christiananity.  Doesnt make sense.  I am sure that Jesus is rolling over in his grave.

Since when did Christians make themselves the model of ethical choice?  Who appointed them to be morally superior? Crushing our traditional values and religous beliefs?  Is it because “The West” is majorly Christian?  Not for much longer…

Something funny that bothers me a bit, the historical Jesus (Yeshoua/’Isha) was a semetic/middle eastern jew, a Rabbi of sorts, in fact.  He was probably of a olive complexion with short black hair and a beard.  So why is Jesus always pictured as white with long brown hair often w/blondish highlights?  And how can Christians hate Jews, when their own “Rabbi” and his earlier followers were Jewish? 

 I think these Christians need to learn a bit more about Christianity, because they are not living their lives according to  Christian values at all.

Addendum:  The younger man in question, to me, appeared to be of the uneducated sort; and this is more often the kind of person who is filled w/ religious hatred or bigotry.  It is true there are academic and well educated bigots who shape social thought, but more of the day-to-day haters are of the lower to middle class part of our society and tend to be non-college educated.

Leave a Reply

