DC Trip

 

I spent this last four day-weekend in Washington, DC.  It was so nice to be in a very cosmopolitan area, after being removed from such things, thanks to the army, for so long.  Its been a long 18 months.  Anyway…

I met a good friend of mine, who had never been to DC (I visited when I was in high school), and we pretty much did touristy things.  It was terribly warm and muggy.

 capitalgraciela.jpg

Highlights include shopping in Georgetown (though being fashionably assaulted by the hyper-homo manager of Club Monaco was really not too nice – that guy needs to calm it down a bit.) and seeing Rolling Thunder drive by the Lincoln Memorial.  I also got some great shots of orchids at the National Botanical Gardens.  The Adams Morgan district was way cool, I’d like to spend some more time there, with all its independant shops and restaurnats.  I got in some religious tourism the first day and went to the Franciscan Monestary, the Basilica, and the offices of the Archdiocese for the Military Services.  I did not get to visit the mandirs or the OCA Cathedral of St Nicholas, due to a nasty case of snoozebuttonitis.

  

As far as dining, I finally had the chance to visit Teaism, a tea house, after visiting it online.  I visited the Dupont circle location (twice), across the street from the Embassy of Tchad.  For lunch one day I visited Etete, an Ethiopian restaurant, which was ok, just ok.  I have had better in LA, plus the tej was bad and made me sick for the rest of the day.  While in Georgetown we visited Paolo’s for drinks and apps and we were going to go to Mie N Yu, which looked really interesting, but the host staff was terribly rude to my friends, refusing to seat them (again), so we went across the street to the retarded Bistro Francais, where the service was lacking and the food was substandard.

 I stayed on the Air Force base and made good use of the DC metro system.

 All in all it was ok, I learned I need to get a better camera bag and wear better shoes next time.

Leave a Reply

